2022 WCQ: Rohr Invites Calvin Bassey, Osimhen, Onuachu 20 Others For CAR Double-Header



Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr has handed maiden invitation to Rangers defender Calvin Bassey for his side’s 2022 FIFA World Cup qualifying double-header against Central African Republic, Completesports reports.

Bassey, who is eligible to play for Italy, Nigeria and England linked up with Rangers in 2020 and has made 10 league appearances for the Gers.

The 21-year-old has made seven appearances across all competition for the Scottish Premiership champions this season with two goals to his name.

The left-back, who is teammate with Joe Aribo and Leon Balogun at Rangers is preferred to Zaidu Sanusi by Rohr.

Wilfred Ndidi and Oghenekaro Etebo were axed from the squad. The duo according to the Nigeria Football Federation are injured.

Goalkeepers; Maduka Okoye , Daniel Akpeyi and Francis Uzoho were also named in the squad.

Team captain ; Ahmed Musa, William Troost-Ekong, Victor Osimhen and Paul Onuachu are some of the regulars in the 23-man squad.

The Super Eagles will host Central African Republic in a matchday three encounter at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos on Thursday, October 7.

The reverse fixture will take place three days later in Douala.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Calvin Ughelumba (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)



Do you find Naijafinix Blog Useful??

Click Here for Feedback and 5-Star Rating!

Be the first to comment

Share your thoughts

Your email address will not be published.